Sage Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
Science Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowSCI contains details of articles, meeting reports, letters, editorials etc. from 5,900 of the most important international science, engineering and medicine journals from 1900 to date.
The Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Science Database - ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Science Database provides unmatched research support for both the applied and general sciences. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
ProQuest Science Database collection is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScience Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowScopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
ScotBisThis link opens in a new windowAccess to over 3,000 of the best business resources on the web as well as to the company and industry resources of the National Library Of Scotland.
You can use SCOTBIS resources in person at the National Library of Scotland. Some services are also available online. Further information is available at
http://scotbis.nls.uk/index.cfm?section_id=01.03
Screen Studies Collection - ProquestThis link opens in a new windowThis collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Additional information about the Screen Studies Collection from ProQuest and how to use it is available here
ScreenOnlineThis link opens in a new windowScreen Online from the British Film Institute is the definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Shock and vibration digestThis link opens in a new windowShock & Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Care OnlineThis link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online is the UK's most extensive free database of social care information. The database contains research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. It is the sister site to reSearchWeb for Scotland.
Social Science Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Social Science Database - ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowDisciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available here
Social Science Research NetworkThis link opens in a new windowSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Self-registration is required to access material.
Social services abstracts - ProquestThis link opens in a new windowSocial Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Social Services Abstracts is also searchable via ProQuest Central.
Additional information about Social Services Abstracts and how to use it is available here
Social Services Knowledge ScotlandThis link opens in a new windowSocial Services Knowledge Scotland provides access to a wide range of quality assured information and knowledge resources across the sector. The search facility will simultaneously search a huge repository of resources, websites, policy documents, journal articles and books with links to full text where available.
Full access to SSKS is available to the following groups:
Staff of NHS Scotland (including contractors such as general practitioner staff, community pharmacy staff, dental surgery staff)
Undergraduate or postgraduate students working or training with NHS Scotland
Social services, public library staff and other local authority staff
Voluntary sector organisations
Other partners of NHS Scotland, (including staff in higher and further education, Scottish Government staff, nursing homes, the armed services and patient/public representatives on NHS groups)
For full details about eligibility and to register for an NHS ATHENS username and password for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at
http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx
Sociology Database - ProquestThis link opens in a new windowThis database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Social Services Abstracts.
Sociology Database is also searchable via Proquest Central.
Additional information about the Sociology Database and how to use it is available here
Spare Rib magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowSpare Rib was an active part of the emerging Women’s Liberation Movement in the late 20th century. Running from 1972-93, this now iconic magazine challenged the stereotyping and exploitation of women, while supporting collective, realistic solutions to the hurdles women faced.
SpeechBiteThis link opens in a new windowspeechBITE™ is a database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowProvided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowStatista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world, with access to over 1.5 million data sets (adding up to 500 extra per day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2020 on over 400 industries. There are also many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge breadth of coverage of data relating to most subject areas. Statista has a team of over 140 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors.
Stanford encyclopaedia of philosophyThis link opens in a new windowSEP is a dynamic encyclopedia covering all areasd of philosphy and ethics where each entry is kept up to date by a group of experts in the field.
