Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: EndNote

EndNote

EndNote is new to QMU from the academic year 2021/22 onwards. Thank you for your patience while we establish access. 

There are two ways of using EndNote: 

EndNote Desktop is a software program that: Creates, stores and manages your references and citations, saves your selected references and citations from online resources, and inserts references and citations from your EndNote Desktop library into your Microsoft Word document, and automatically creates a bibliography, so you do not have to manually do so yourself.

EndNote Web is a companion web version of EndNote Desktop. It is an online citation management application that can help organize research material into your own online mini database.

For support setting up EndNote please contact your liaison librarian or see Clarivate's training and support resources.

Getting started with EndNote

Please note that EndNote Desktop and the Word plugin have been installed on the QMU desktop and remote desktop. This means that you can access it from your own device using the remote access VMware Horizon tool if you need/prefer to.

EndNote Desktop

We recommend EndNote Desktop for research postgraduates and academic staff. It has the full functionality you need, including customising output styles for specific publications. Synchronise it with EndNote online to continue to work on different PCs.

You can download the desktop software onto your own device following the steps below.

Installing EndNote on your own device

1. Click the link below to install the software on your own device - select the right one for the type of device you are using

EndNote installer for PC

EndNote installer for Mac

2. Please email Assist@qmu.ac.uk for the serial number and product key to allow you to fully install EndNote

EndNote Web

We recommend EndNote Web for Undergraduate and Masters students. It has all the functionality you need to store and use references, plus customised styles. It can be accessed from anywhere at any time.

There are two versions of EndNote Web: 

The free version, EndNote Basic, accessible to anyone. You can log in to EndNote Web and use the free online version of the tool online.

QMU's subscription to EndNote Premium, accessible only after setting up EndNote Desktop, which has more features and functionality. Follow the instructions below on registering for an EndNote account to make sure you have access to the Premium version.

Registering for an EndNote account

You need to use your QMU email address to register for an EndNote account. You can do this via the EndNote program when you have installed it. If you are unable to install EndNote on your device (due to compatibility issues) please contact your liaison librarian and they will advise you about how to proceed.

If you sign up for an EndNote account online, you will be given access to EndNote Basic. This does not offer you the full functionality you are able to have as a QMU student or member of staff. To convert your account from Basic to Premium, follow these steps:

It is applicable for those who have already created an EndNote online account via the website and those who have yet to have an EndNote online account):

1. Open the EndNote program
2. Go to "Edit" menu > select “Preferences” (in Windows)/ Go to "EndNote 20" menu > select “Preferences” (in Mac)
3. Click on "Sync" from the left panel
4. Click “Enable Sync” > “Sign-up”> enter the EndNote online account email address and password
6. Click on “OK” (in Windows)/ Click Save (in Mac)
7. Once done, the user could then proceed to locate their EndNote library  then click on “Library” and “Sync” (for EndNote 20)/ "Tools" > "Sync" (for EndNote X9 and earlier)

Where to store your EndNote files

Store your EndNote files on your computer's local hard drive, such as in Documents or on the Desktop. Avoid cloud-based services such as OneDrive, iCloud and Drop-box. 

When you use Desktop EndNote, especially when inserting references in Word documents, it constantly reads and writes information back to your EndNote library. If you use your files on a cloud-based location, such as OneDrive or iCloud, this means your library can become corrupted over time.

Check that your chosen location is not automatically syncing to a cloud service. On a Windows computer open the File Explorer and right-click on the relevant location and select Properties. If you are unsure just create a new folder on the C: drive where you will store your EndNote files. For Mac iCloud users we suggest creating a separate folder in your Home folder and saving your EndNote libraries there.

Generating a bibliography in EndNote web

To create a bibliography (i.e. reference list) in EndNote web:

1. Hover over Format on the top menu and click Bibliography

2. Select the folder of references you want to make a list of using the drop down References menu

3. Select the referencing style you want to use from the drop down Bibliographic Style menu or click Select Favorites if you haven't done this before

4. Choose the referencing style you want from the list of All styles - please note, if you are using Harvard referencing, the correct version to select is Cite Them Right-Harvard 

5. Click Copy To Favourites then select from the Bibliographic style drop down menu

6. Select the file format you want from the drop down menu and then click the button to save, email, or preview and print

 

EndNote vs Mendeley

The EndNote and Mendeley plugins in Word conflict with each other, so you might experience problems if you have both installed. The most common error message seen is 'Cannot edit range' when trying to insert a citation from EndNote into a Word document.

To stop this happening you have to disable the Mendeley plugin by following these steps:

  1. Open the File menu in Word.
  2. Select Options then Add-Ins.
  3. From the Manage list at the foot of the window select Word Add-ins and click Go.
  4. Unselect the Mendeley add-in.

You will need to do this every time you open a document in Word.

Endnote Online Fundamentals

This video covers:

  • How to set up the bibliographic style (Harvard or APA)

  • Creating groups

  • Manually adding references

  • Adding attachments

  • Checking for duplicates

  • Creating a reference list through Endnote Online account

Insert citations and references into your Word document using Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write is EndNote's plugin for Microsoft Word, which allows you to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.

It is compatible with Windows and Mac: 

Please read the Installation Instructions and System Requirements before setting up Cite While You Write on your device.

We recommend that you use Cite While You Write using either EndNote Desktop or EndNote Web. This is because it can be complicated to switch between the two within one document.

However, if you do find yourself having difficulties, please see this guide from Clarivate about using both EndNote desktop and EndNote online on the same document.

Creating a reference list or bibliography with EndNote Web

Exporting results from databases and creating a reference list