Cite While You Write (CWYW) is the EndNote feature that allows you to use it to format citations in Microsoft Word. This page contains guidance and information on how you can use it in your work.
Cite While You Write is EndNote's plugin for Microsoft Word, which allows you to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
It is compatible with Windows and Mac and is installed automatically when you install EndNote 20.
We recommend that you use Cite While You Write using either EndNote Desktop or EndNote Web. This is because it can be complicated to switch between the two within one document.
If you get an error message when trying to install the plugin
It may be that you are using a QMU license on your device and do not have access privileges. If this is the case, please contact Assist@qmu.ac.uk who can change your settings to allow you to install the plugin.
When you have installed the Cite While You Write Plugin, or have opened Word on a QMU computer or via remote desktop, you should see an EndNote tab on the ribbon at the top of the screen.
To add a reference, place your cursor where you wish to insert your citation then on the EndNote tab select Go to Endnote. This takes you to your EndNote library. Select the citation then Tools > Cite While You Write (CWYW) -> Insert Selected Citation(s). You can also use ALT 2.
From the EndNote tab in Word, you can also use Insert Citation > Insert Selected Citation to insert the last reference that you have highlighted in EndNote or Insert Citation > Find Citation. The latter opens up a dialogue box where you can search for a reference by author, title or keyword. Highlight the desired reference and click on Insert.
CWYW also allows citations to be created excluding the Author(s) or the Year.
You can do this from the Endnote tab in Word following the instructions above to insert a citation. However, instead of clicking on the Insert button, click on the arrow beside it:
You will be presented with a short list of options:
Insert & Exclude Author
Insert & Exclude Year
Choose the option that best suits how you would like the citation to be formatted. For example, by selecting the Insert & Exclude Author option, the citation will look like this:
This example demonstrates how authors, such as Coulter and Lee (2016), can be excluded from the citation that CWYW generates.
It has been found, when referencing with Cite Them Right-Harvard, that the reference list entries for journal articles are not including either the DOI or the URL (with last accessed date).
This problem can be resolved within Endnote 20 by adding in some additional instructions. The instructions about how to do this can be found in the document below:
EndNote allows you to change the type of Referencing Style - this will dictate how your references will appear when you come to cite them in a Word document.
QMU uses Cite Them Right Harvard and APA 7th. Check to make sure you are using the correct referencing style.
To find the correct version of Harvard in the EndNote search menu, scroll down to find 'Cite Them Right-Harvard'.
Please note: Cite Them Right Harvard is currently on its 12th edition, and the online guide that we recommend you use for referencing uses the 12th edition advice. The MS Word plug in for EndNote is currently configured with the 8th edition of Cite Them Right Harvard, so you may notice small differences when using the plug in. Please check the Cite Them Right website and then make any necessary amendments to the automatically generated references in Word.
The Output Style box comes preloaded with only a few styles. If you don't see the format you want to use in the Bibliographic Output Style box, you can choose a different one. If EndNote has not developed an output style for the journal or format you need, you can edit an existing output style to suit your needs. See the link below for guidance on how to do this.
To change the output style you can select an alternative from the drop down Style box in Word. The changes will be instant.
To edit citations you must use command options available in EN or Word - if you try to edit the body of the text in Word, the changes will not be permanently stored. Place your cursor in the reference to be amended then click on Edit and Manage Citations.
You can select to Exclude Year and/or Author, if you have already mentioned these in the body of your text.
You can add information in the Prefix or Suffix fields, for instance 'See' in the prefix or page numbers in the suffix fields.
Please note: do not use the Pages field for page numbers unless you know that your style (e.g. APA 7) uses this field. If you are unsure use the Suffix field and enter the page(s) as you would like it to appear in the citation, e,g, p.1.
It is possible to create a new EndNote library from a Word document if the references in the document were originally inserted from EndNote. This feature will not work with plain text. It is useful if you have worked on a document using several EndNote libraries and you now wish to have a library which includes every reference you have used in your document and no others. You can easily create a separate final bibliography from such a library.
1. Login to EndNote 20 Desktop
2. Open the Word document that contains the reference list you want to import into EndNote (example below)
3. In Word, click on the Endnote 20 tab
4. Click on the dropdown arrow next to the Export to Endnote option
5. Click on the Export Word Master List option
6. From the popup box, choose whether to import to an existing Endnote Library or to add to a new Library
7. Click on OK
8. A popup box will appear when the export has successfully been completed
9. The references should automatically be imported into the Library within the Imported References, Recently Added or Unfiled groups
It's possible to add a text footnote to your document if you are using a numbered citation style.
Insert Citation > Insert Note
Insert Citation > Insert Figure
You can then search by caption keyword or title.
If you've been asked to create an annotated bibliography, you can use EndNote to insert a full reference list into a Word document without the in-text citations.
In EndNote, first ensure you have the correct referencing style selected at the top of the screen. Now highlight the references you wish to appear in your bibliography (use the Control and/or Shift keys to highlight multiple references). Right-click on the highlighted area and select Copy Formatted. Open a blank Word document and paste the references into it.
Now simply type in your annotations between the references as necessary.
You can also drag the references into a Word document using your mouse and selecting the Ctrl key at the same time.