Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote at QMU: Introduction to EndNote

About EndNote

EndNote is new to QMU from the academic year 2021/22 onwards and is the main reference management software we support at QMU. Thank you for your patience while we establish access. 

There are two ways of using EndNote: 

EndNote Online is the web version of EndNote Desktop. It is an online citation management application that can help organize research material into your own online mini database.

EndNote Desktop is a software program that: Creates, stores and manages your references and citations, saves your selected references and citations from online resources, and inserts references and citations from your EndNote Desktop library into your Microsoft Word document, and automatically creates a bibliography, so you do not have to manually do so yourself.

EndNote 20

EndNote 20 for Windows is available for QMU staff and students to download for free. For more information on EndNote 20 see the Clarivate EndNote LibGuide and their EndNote 20 Video collection. For instructions on how to download and install EndNote see the Getting Started tab.

What is EndNote Desktop?

EndNote logo


What is EndNote?

EndNote is reference management software designed to make your academic life a little easier by allowing you to build a collection of references for your research. It can help take the stress out of referencing properly, helping you organise your lists of references and create bibliographies. It allows you to :

  • Find and import references downloaded from library catalogues and databases directly into your own personal EndNote library
  • Store, organise and search for references in your EndNote library
  • Add citations to your word-processed document and create your bibliography in a number of citation styles

Why use EndNote?

  • You need to provide accurate references to all the sources you use to avoid plagiarism - EndNote makes this easier!
  • Using EndNote ensures you cite your references in the correct style for your School or purpose

EndNote training and support

Library staff run regular courses on EndNote. The course is a practical introduction that covers all functionality available in the programme. You can find out more and book your EndNote place online. In addition, liaison librarians are often asked to provide sessions about EndNote within programmes. Your course leader will share information with you about this.

 

EndNote vs Mendeley

The EndNote and Mendeley plugins in Word conflict with each other, so you might experience problems if you have both installed. The most common error message seen is 'Cannot edit range' when trying to insert a citation from EndNote into a Word document.

To stop this happening you have to disable the Mendeley plugin by following these steps:

  1. Open the File menu in Word.
  2. Select Options then Add-Ins.
  3. From the Manage list at the foot of the window select Word Add-ins and click Go.
  4. Unselect the Mendeley add-in.

You will need to do this every time you open a document in Word.

Which version of EndNote should I use?

Both EndNote Online and EndNote desktop are free for QMU staff and students.

EndNote Online should offer enough functionality for undergraduates and taught postgraduates. It is cloud based so you can use it from anywhere. You can continue to use it after you leave QMU: you will have an EndNote basic account which has a smaller number of styles. You just need to change your email address to a personal email address within EndNote Online. You can sync between EndNote Online and EndNote desktop so the same references will be in both.

EndNote Desktop offers greater functionality for research postgraduates and staff though all staff and students can use it. You download the software so this will require space on your computer. If you leave QMU, you will need to purchase a copy or remove it from your machine.

EndNote Basic can be used after you graduate and is a limited online version. 

Registering for an EndNote account

You need to use your QMU email address to register for an EndNote account. You can do this via the EndNote program when you have installed it. If you are unable to install EndNote on your device (due to compatibility issues) please contact your liaison librarian and they will advise you about how to proceed.

If you sign up for an EndNote account online, you will be given access to EndNote Basic. This does not offer you the full functionality you are able to have as a QMU student or member of staff. To convert your account from Basic to Premium, follow these steps:

It is applicable for those who have already created an EndNote online account via the website and those who have yet to have an EndNote online account):

1. Open the EndNote program
2. Go to "Edit" menu > select “Preferences” (in Windows)/ Go to "EndNote 20" menu > select “Preferences” (in Mac)
3. Click on "Sync" from the left panel
4. Click “Enable Sync” > “Sign-up”> enter the EndNote online account email address and password
6. Click on “OK” (in Windows)/ Click Save (in Mac)
7. Once done, the user could then proceed to locate their EndNote library  then click on “Library” and “Sync” (for EndNote 20)/ "Tools" > "Sync" (for EndNote X9 and earlier)

EndNote website

For more information on EndNote, including training videos and FAQs, see the EndNote product website, provided by Clarivate Analytics.

EndNote site

Acknowledgement

This guide has been adapted with kind permission, from the University of Strathclyde EndNote Libguide.