Databases

Law and multidisciplinary databases
News and newspapers databases

CMMC: Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources in all aspects of communication and mass media.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Conference Proceedings Citation Index is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. It helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide.
EResearch This link opens in a new window
eResearch is a repository which collects together the work of Queen Margaret University researchers and allows them to make their research outputs freely available over the web via a searchable "open access" database.
This resource is freely available on the internet.
eTheses This link opens in a new window
eTheses is a repository of full-text theses produced by students of Queen Margaret University. It is an Open Access repository which aims to make the material available to the widest possible audience.
This resource is freely available on the internet. However undergraduate dissertations are only accessible by a person with a QMU email address.
HeinOnline (off campus) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline includes more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700’s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more
HeinOnline (on campus) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline includes more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700’s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more
Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Legislation.gov.uk This link opens in a new window
Legislation.gov.uk carries most types of UK Legislation. It lists a complete breakdown of the types of legislation held on the site.
Political Science Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Additional information about the Political Science Database and how to use it is available
here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open This link opens in a new window
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available
here
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world, with access to over 1.5 million data sets (adding up to 500 extra per day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2020 on over 400 industries. There are also many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge breadth of coverage of data relating to most subject areas. Statista has a team of over 140 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Canadian Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Global Breaking Newswire This link opens in a new window
Full textt coverage from 58 Newswires from around the world
International newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
NewsBank UK (off campus access) This link opens in a new window
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information,
NewsBank UK (on campus access) This link opens in a new window
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information, Also available remotely 24/7 on any device- please see Newsbank off campus link.