Collaborations - Drama, Theatre and Performing Arts: Useful websites

The Costume Gallery has 15 websites dedicated to the history of the fashion/costume/textile industries. Some content is free and some is available when you subscribe (for a fee).

Fashion-era contains 885 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History.

The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.

Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. The Fashion Press section contains a selection of fashion press titles from the late 18th century to the first half of the 20th century.

Links to sewing tutorials, workbooks, patterns and other historical costume resources

Reproductions of costume design plates originally published from 1861 to 1880. Contains 500 costume designs of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.

This digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940’s) include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes. You can download a PDF version of texts.

Images, objects and records from the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Search the National Art Library, the Archive of Art and Design, and the library collections of the Theatre & Performance Department.

Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. High resolution images and clips.

News, training, resources and support for stage management in the UK

Wide range of resources and external links relating to all kinds of theatre crafts, including stage management - see Topics tab