QMULibGuides: Psychology: Databases

Databases

APA PsycArticles
This full-text psychology database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
LLBA - Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Additional information about Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) and how to use it is available
here
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Extensive multidisciplinary statistics platform including forecasts, reports, studies, dossiers. For off-campus access click Login (top right). In the new window, click Campus Access. In the next window, go to “If you have access” to select our university from the list under “Off Campus” and click Check Access when you’ll be prompted to input your QMU credentials.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Violence and Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Alphabetic list

Campbell collaboration library of systematic reviews This link opens in a new window
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Open Grey This link opens in a new window
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Research Library - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the ProQuest Research Library and how to use it is available
here
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Services Knowledge Scotland This link opens in a new window
Full access to SSKS is available to the following groups:

Staff of NHS Scotland (including contractors such as general practitioner staff, community pharmacy staff, dental surgery staff)
Undergraduate or postgraduate students working or training with NHS Scotland
Social services, public library staff and other local authority staff
Voluntary sector organisations
Other partners of NHS Scotland, (including staff in higher and further education, Scottish Government staff, nursing homes, the armed services and patient/public representatives on NHS groups)
For full details about eligibility and to register for an NHS ATHENS username and password for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at
http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx
Stanford encyclopaedia of philosophy This link opens in a new window

PTSDPubs
The PTSDpubs bibliographic database provides citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Alphabetic list

Criminal Justice Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Criminal Justice database and how to use it is available
here
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Education database and how to use it is available
here
Consumer Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Consumer Health Database and how to use it is available
here
Military Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Military Database and how to use it is available
here
Religion Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available
here
Social services abstracts - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about Social Services Abstracts and how to use it is available
here