QMULibGuides: Business School Guide: Industry, Markets, Company, Country Profiles, Stats & Data Resources

The Financial Times and The Economist

Financial Times archive (via Proquest Newsstand)

Includes articles from 31st May 1996 - present (with a 30 day delay)

Recently added to the archive...

FT.com
FT.com (web site) delivers in-depth global news and financial information.
Self-registration is required.

FT.com news feed...

The Economist (archive via Proquest)

Includes full-text articles from 4th January 1992 (vol. 322, no. 7740) - present

Recently added ...

Academic Databases Containing Company Information

Key
News and newspapers

ABI/Inform Collection
ABI/Inform provides full-text and regularly updated finance and forecast reports for 40 countries, including all the G20 countries. All of these reports are available in full text and are updated every month. Use the 'Data and Reports' option to search market reports and data in ABI/Inform.

Additional information about ABI/Inform and how to use it is available
here

Browse ABI/Inform Collection
Browse for: Industry and Market Research reports; Commodity Reports; Company reports; Country reports (includes reports from Economist Intelligence Unit).

Hoovers Company Profiles and Snapshots are now part of Business Market Research Collection.

Statista
Statista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world, with access to over 1.5 million data sets (adding up to 500 extra per day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2020 on over 400 industries. There are also many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge breadth of coverage of data relating to most subject areas. Statista has a team of over 140 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors.
Business Market Research Collection - Proquest
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources - Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Additional information about the Business Market Research Collection and how to use it is available
here

Browse Business Market Research Collection
Browse: Industry and Market research (Snapshot Series Industry Reports); Company Reports (Hoovers Company Records); Country Reports (OxResearch reports).

WARC - World Advertising Research Center (on campus)
WARC provides information and insight in the global marketing, advertising, media and research industries.
WARC - World Advertising Research Centre (off campus)
WARC is a provider of information and insight to the global marketing, advertising, media and research industries.

Canadian Newsstream - Proquest
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Global Breaking Newswire
Full text coverage from 58 newswires from around the world
International newsstream - Proquest
Includes UK national and regional newspapers.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Statistics
Company information and annual reports

Scottish and UK data/statistics

British Social Attitudes
Family Spending in the UK Statistical bulletins
Find open data
Data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies
Gov.uk - Statistics
NatCen - National Centre for Social Research
Office for National Statistics (ONS)
Open Data Scotland
A crowdsourced open data portal, aggregating open datasets across Scotland
ScotCen - Scottish Centre for Social Research
Scottish Government - Statistics
Scottish Social Attitudes
Statistics.gov.scot
UK Data Service

World data/statistics

DataCite Commons
DataCite a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data with a goal of helping the research community locate, identify, and cite research data with confidence. DataCite search gathers metadata for each DOI assigned to an object which is used for a large index of research data that can be queried directly to find data, obtain usage statistics and explore connections.
Data for Development
Alliance of Global South-based research organisations working to mobilise the knowledge needed to advance the use of data and digital technologies to address critical development challenges.
Eurostat
Google Datasets Search
Search relevant datasets from many repositories (some may be behind a paywalls) using keywords or simple phrases.
Google Finance
Use a keyword or phrase e.g. "share prices".
You can follow various company shares, search for stocks, EFTs, etc. compare markets on currencies, crypto, futures, see financial news.
Google Trends
For trending topics or how trends vary over time for products, people, research, companies, places, events, etc. In Trending Now explore trending terms by country. In Explore you can narrow by countries, region, categories, compare different search terms, narrow down to city or over time
IMF International Monetary Fund
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR hosts a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. Most of the files are free to access.
OECD Country Profiles
Open Data Handbook
Guides, case studies and resources for government & civil society
on the "what, why & how" of open data.
The Official Portal for European Data
United Nations Statistics Division
World Bank
The World Factbook
World and by country social and economic data
World Trade Organization
Yahoo Finance
Finance, markets, crypto, finance by industry and many more.

AnnualReports.com
Companies House
Find registered office address and date of incorporation, filing history, accounts, annual return, charges, current and resigned officers, document images, mortgage charge data, previous company names, insolvency information