Skip to main content

Research Support: Research Resources

Open Researcher and Contributor ID

Library Resources

Search books, ebooks and back issues of journals in the library catalogue.

For resources and databases provided by the library please see Subject Resources A-Z or QMU database and resource AtoZ list .

Jisc Library Hub Discover

Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries.

In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This new service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues, with a new interface style and updated search facilities.

data.bl.uk

data.bl.uk - a collection of datasets released by the British Library

The British Library has made copies of some of its datasets available for research and creative purposes. The aim is to describe collections in terms of their data format (images, full text, metadata, etc), licences, temporal and geographic scope, originating purpose (e.g. specific digitisation projects or exhibitions) and collection, and related subjects or themes. 

Each dataset may have its own licencing conditions and re-use stipulations, so please check details in each collection's website for more information.

Dryad

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.

Dryad originated from an initiative among a group of leading journals and scientific societies to adopt a joint data archiving policy (JDAP) for their publications, and the recognition that open, easy-to-use, not-for-profit, community-governed data infrastructure was needed to support such a policy.

Dryad’s vision is to promote a world where research data is openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge [...] to provide infrastructure for, and promote the re-use of, data underlying the scholarly literature.

CORE

CORE - the world’s largest collection of open access research papers

CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.

CORE harvests research papers from data providers from all over the world including institutional and subject repositories, open access and hybrid journal publishers.

CORE currently contains millions of open access articles, from over tens of thousands of journals, collected from data providers around the world.

Open Access Button and Unpaywall

If you’ve found the perfect research item and hit a paywall, Open Access Button and Unpaywall will search to see if there is an open access version of it available.  Simply enter the article’s DOI or other information, or install the browser extensions and click them every time you encounter a paywall, to be redirected to an open version if available.

OpenGrey

OpenGrey - System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, provides open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature (papers) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate documents.

Examples of grey literature include: technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature.

OpenGrey (previously known as SIGLE) covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Sciences and Humanities.

Wolfram Alpha

WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine, rather than a search engine, which we are more accustomed to searching the world wide web with.  WolframAlpha is  described as an engine for computing answers and providing knowledge. It works by using its vast store of expert-level knowledge and algorithms to automatically answer questions, do analysis, and generate reports.

Figshare

Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. It allows users to upload any file format to be made visualisable in the browser so that figures, datasets, media, papers, posters, presentations and filesets can be disseminated.  For researchers, it is free to upload anything if it is open access. For private storage, the first 1GB is free with a 250MB file size limit, with a pricing system for larger requirements.
Embedded image permalink