Skip to main content

Research Support: Resources

Open Researcher and Contributor ID

Library Resources

For resources that the library subscribes to, please see our Subject Resources A-Z or QMU database and resource AtoZ list .

COPAC

Copac exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries (and growing). In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s national libraries (including the British Library), many University libraries, and specialist research libraries.  Researchers and educators use Copac to save time in their research, to quickly and easily discover and locate resources, to check document details, review materials in their field, and assess the rarity of materials etc.

Searching Copac means you are searching a wide and varied range of library catalogues, from the collections of the Oxford and Cambridge universities to the libraries at the National Trust and the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew. Copac’s contributors run the gamut from conservatoires to the catalogues of the major Russian and East European Collections in the country. We are adding more libraries all the time with a focus on specialist research collections, for example the Middle Temple Library and Institution of Mechanical Engineers Library, increasing the visibility of a growing range of specialist and rare materials.

data.bl.uk

As part of its work to open its data to wider use, the British Library is making copies of some of its datasets available for research and creative purposes.

THE BRITISH LIBRARY

Wolfram Alpha

WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine, rather than a search engine, which we are more accustomed to searching the world wide web with.  WolframAlpha is  described as an engine for computing answers and providing knowledge. It works by using its vast store of expert-level knowledge and algorithms to automatically answer questions, do analysis, and generate reports.

CORE

The mission of CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

CORE Logo

Dryad

The Dryad digital repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

OpenGrey

OpenGrey (previously known as SIGLE)  provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.

Examples of grey literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, and some official publications.

OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.

Image result for opengrey

Figshare

Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. It allows users to upload any file format to be made visualisable in the browser so that figures, datasets, media, papers, posters, presentations and filesets can be disseminated.  For researchers, it is free to upload anything if it is open access. For private storage, the first 1GB is free with a 250MB file size limit, with a pricing system for larger requirements.
 
Embedded image permalink