It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full access to SSKS is available to the following groups:
Staff of NHS Scotland (including contractors such as general practitioner staff, community pharmacy staff, dental surgery staff)
Undergraduate or postgraduate students working or training with NHS Scotland
Social services, public library staff and other local authority staff
Voluntary sector organisations
Other partners of NHS Scotland, (including staff in higher and further education, Scottish Government staff, nursing homes, the armed services and patient/public representatives on NHS groups)
For full details about eligibility and to register for an NHS ATHENS username and password for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information, Also available remotely 24/7 on any device- please see Newsbank off campus link.
The world’s leading resource for the study of newsreels and cinemagazines. The newsreel data is based on the original issue sheets, and includes title, release date, issue number, library number, synopsis, length, camera operator and keywords.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
As the “world’s newspaper of record,” The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2008 makes 223 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Help with using databases
See below for support materials and tutorials for using some of the key databases.
Please contact your librarian for more help if needed.
My Research is a tool that you can use to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.