QMULibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Databases

Databases

Databases
Multidisciplinary databases

Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, and society and the elderly.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
Consumer Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
the Consumer Health Database covers an enormous range of subjects including sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry. It includes important general medical journals as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Family Health Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Consumer Health Database and how to use it is available
here
DORIS - database of research in stroke This link opens in a new window
DORIS provides easy access to current best evidence, guidelines, systematic reviews and RCTs, ongoing research, and priorities for future research.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
The Education Database covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education and also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Additional information about the Education database and how to use it is available
here
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains references to articles and reports on education topics; adult, career and vocational education, assessment and evaluation, disabilities and gifted education, educational management, elementary and early childhood education, higher education, information technology, language and linguistics, reading and communication, teacher and teacher education, urban education.
Health and Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery.
Additional information about the health and Medical collection database and how to use it is available
here
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Additional information about the Nursing and Allied Health Dataase and how to use it is available
here
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available
here
Violence and Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Campbell collaboration library of systematic reviews This link opens in a new window
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Open Grey This link opens in a new window
Open Grey is an open access resource containing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip Pro is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.

Scopus quick reference guide
A written overview to help you get started with Scopus. The document can be downloaded or printed out.

Scopus tutorials
An audiovisual collection that introduces Scopus and its different functions.

Searching for theses using eTheses

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

PRESS Checklist

The PRESS Checklist is a tool used for peer review of electronic literature search strategies. You can use this checklist to evaluate your own search strategy as well, to ensure that you haven't missed any important elements.

Spelling of medical terms

When you are conducting a keyword search in a database, you need to take variations in spelling into account as there may be differences in UK and US spellings. This web page lists medical terms with variations in spelling.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

ProQuest

ProQuest search tips
Help with Boolean operators, truncation and wild cards, proximity operators etc.

ProQuest Advanced search
How to use the advanced search option in ProQuest databases.

'My Research' tool
My Research is a tool that you can use to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users.

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

Using the CINAHL Headings/MeSH feature in EBSCOhost databases

Editing and saving searches in an EBSCO database

Web of Science

Reference guides
Search tutorials

Quick reference guide

https://bit.ly/webosciencequickguide

Presentation slides exploring the features of Web of Science

https://bit.ly/weboscienceoverviewguide

The guides provide an overview of the database, looking at areas such the features inbuilt within the databases, how to combine searches and how to save searches. The guides can be downloaded or printed out.

The help page's 'Strategies for getting results' section contains several short online tutorials looking at how to effectively use the database:

https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/support/wos/

Tutorials include :

Build Better searches (5:10 mins) - Provides an overview of in-built features, such as using fields, truncation, boolean operators and phrase searching.

Advanced search (1:42 mins) - explores the advanced search option, ho to use the features and where to find previous searches

Combining search sets (3:57 mins) - tutorial looks at how to combines searches within Advanced Search

Why use controlled terms for search? (1:56 mins) - explores incorporating thesaurus terms within a search

Occupational Therapy: Databases

Accessing databases