QMULibGuides: Collaborative Working: Education and Therapy: Databases

Databases

Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Consumer Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
the Consumer Health Database covers an enormous range of subjects including sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry. It includes important general medical journals as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Family Health Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Consumer Health Database and how to use it is available
here
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
The Education Database covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education and also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Additional information about the Education database and how to use it is available
here
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains references to articles and reports on education topics; adult, career and vocational education, assessment and evaluation, disabilities and gifted education, educational management, elementary and early childhood education, higher education, information technology, language and linguistics, reading and communication, teacher and teacher education, urban education.
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Additional information about the Nursing and Allied Health Dataase and how to use it is available
here
PEDro - physiotherapy evidence database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It gives access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Physiotherapy choices This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy Choices is a database designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services. The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions. Three sorts of research evidence are catalogued: clinical trials, reviews and guidelines.
Psycarticles This link opens in a new window
This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available
here

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
eTheses This link opens in a new window
eTheses is a repository of full-text theses produced by students of Queen Margaret University. It is an Open Access repository which aims to make the material available to the widest possible audience.
This resource is freely available on the internet. However undergraduate dissertations are only accessible by a person with a QMU email address.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.

Searching for theses using eTheses

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Scopus

Scopus Quick Reference Guide
A written overview to help you get started with Scopus. The document can be downloaded or printed out.

Proquest

Proquest advanced search help
How to use advanced search in Proquest Central - includes tips for focussing your search and a link to the advanced search video.

Proquest search tips
Help with Boolean operators, truncation and wild cards, proximity operators etc.

Proquest 'My Research' help
My Research is a tool that you can use to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users.