QMULibGuides: Film & Media: Databases

Key Databases

CMMC: Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources in all aspects of communication and mass media.
HeinOnline (off campus) This link opens in a new window
This database includes content on gaming and communications law.
HeinOnline (on campus) This link opens in a new window
This database includes content on gaming and communications law.
Learning on Screen This link opens in a new window
Includes:
BUFVC Researchers Guide Online
Channel 4 press packs 1982-2002
Moving Image Gateway
News on Screen
Radio at BUFVC
TV Times Project

Log in, click 'search' and then click 'collections' to see list of research resources
Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new window
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform designed to support moving-image studies. It offers a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, the British Film Institute, Focal Press and Auteur (LUP). It is an essential resource for academics and students engaged in research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.
Screen Studies Collection - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Additional information about the Screen Studies Collection from ProQuest and how to use it is available
here

Academic Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
LLBA - Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Additional information about Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.

Film and Television Databases

IBTD - International Bibliography of theatre and dance This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals and books.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Internet movie script database This link opens in a new window
The biggest collection of movie scripts available anywhere on the web, this site lets you read or download movie scripts for free.
Moving Image gateway This link opens in a new window
This Gateway includes over 1,000 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
ScreenOnline This link opens in a new window
Screen Online from the British Film Institute is the definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Screen Studies Collection - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Additional information about the Screen Studies Collection from ProQuest and how to use it is available
here

TV Listings

TVTimes Project This link opens in a new window
TVTiP is a fully searchable database of the programmes listed in television listings magazine TVTimes from September 1955 to March 1985.
This resource is available on and off campus but authentication using our Shibboleth service is required in both locations
Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching - TRILT This link opens in a new window
Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching - listings and archive of broadcast programme information
This resource is available on and off campus but authentication using our Shibboleth service is required in both locations
Learning on Screen This link opens in a new window
A collection of resources from the British Universities Film and Video Council
Includes:
Channel 4 Press Packs from 1982-2002
Women’s Work in British Film and Television
The London Broadcasting Company (LBC) | Independent Radio News (IRN)
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme 1983-1990
Central Southern England Independent Local Radio 1975 to 1990
Screen Plays: The Theatre Plays on British Television
Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio
Newsreels and Cinemagazines
The Open University
Radio Times Listings Archive (BBC Genome Project) This link opens in a new window
This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. You can search the site for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions.

Music and Radio Databases

Radio at BUFVC This link opens in a new window
Radio meta data and streaming media.
This resource is available on and off campus but authentication using our Shibboleth service is required in both locations.
Archival Sound Recordings This link opens in a new window
Archival Sound Recordings from the British Library gives access to over 12,000 recordings.
IBTD - International Bibliography of theatre and dance This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals and books.

News and Newspapers

Canadian Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
NewsBank UK (on campus access) This link opens in a new window
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information, Also available remotely 24/7 on any device- please see Newsbank off campus link.
News on screen This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading resource for the study of newsreels and cinemagazines. The newsreel data is based on the original issue sheets, and includes title, release date, issue number, library number, synopsis, length, camera operator and keywords.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2008 This link opens in a new window
As the “world’s newspaper of record,” The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2008 makes 223 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Help with using databases

See below for support materials and tutorials for using some of the key databases.

Please contact your librarian for more help if needed.

Tips and shortcuts for using databases

Proquest

Proquest advanced search help
How to use advanced search in Proquest Central - includes tips for focussing your search and a link to the advanced search video.

Proquest search tips
Help with Boolean operators, truncation and wild cards, proximity operators etc.

Proquest 'My Research' help
My Research is a tool that you can use to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users.

EBSCO

Video help

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Catalogues

AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
The AFI Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1974, and has records for selected major films from 1975-2011.
Archival Sound Recordings This link opens in a new window
Archival Sound Recordings from the British Library gives access to over 12,000 recordings.
Moving Image Archive This link opens in a new window
The Moving Image Archive is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.

Magazines

Internet Archive Magazines

Film & Media: Databases

Accessing databases

Key Databases

Academic Databases

Film and Television Databases

TV Listings

Music and Radio Databases

News and Newspapers

Help with using databases

Tips and shortcuts for using databases

Proquest

EBSCO

Internet Archive Scholar

Catalogues

Magazines