QMULibGuides: Physiotherapy: Databases

Databases

Databases
Multidisciplinary databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Consumer Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
the Consumer Health Database covers an enormous range of subjects including sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry. It includes important general medical journals as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
ProQuest Family Health Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Consumer Health Database and how to use it is available
here
Health and Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery.
Additional information about the health and Medical collection database and how to use it is available
here
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Additional information about the Nursing and Allied Health Dataase and how to use it is available
here
PEDro - physiotherapy evidence database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It gives access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Physiotherapy choices This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy Choices is a database designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services. The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions. Three sorts of research evidence are catalogued: clinical trials, reviews and guidelines.
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip Pro is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Knowledge network (NHS) This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network (NHS e-Library) offers a wide range of resources including over 4000 e-journals, over 1000 e-books and over 100 databases. NHS staff, students and affiliated researchers are eligible for access.
Full access to the Knowledge Network is only available to NHS staff and students who go on placement within the NHS. Those providing education and training to NHS staff and students and researchers working in partnership with the NHS are also eligible to join.
For full details about eligibility and to register for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx.
Open Grey This link opens in a new window
Open Grey is an open access resource containing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Evidence-based Practice

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports This link opens in a new window
The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports is a refereed online journal that publishes systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology and undertaken by the Joanna Briggs Institute and its international collaborating centres and groups.
QMU does not subscribe to this resource so only Open Access material is available to our staff and students.

Anatomy and physical examination

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination for Nurses, Paramedics and related subject areas.

For your dissertation

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
eTheses This link opens in a new window
eTheses is a repository of full-text theses produced by students of Queen Margaret University. It is an Open Access repository which aims to make the material available to the widest possible audience.
This resource is freely available on the internet. However undergraduate dissertations are only accessible by a person with a QMU email address.

Searching for theses using eTheses

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

EBSCO databases

EBSCO has produced guides on using different features of it databases. Links to some of the guides are listed below:

EBSCOhost Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)

bit.ly/EBSCOhostBasicSearchingTutorial

EBSCO Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)

https://bit.ly/EBSCOAdvancedSearchingTutorial

Browsing Subject Terms in EBSCOhost Databases Tutorial (PowerPoint)

https://bit.ly/BrowsingSubjectTermsinEBSCODatabasesTutorial

The guide looks at how to save searches so they can be re-run or edited at a later date:

https://bit.ly/ebscohelp

ProQuest Databases

https://bit.ly/proquesthelp
A guide on how to use the search functions in ProQuest.

ProQuest search strategy tips course

https://bit.ly/proquestsearchstrategytips

The online course (7 minutes) looks to provide guidance on how to develop a search strategy. Providing help with Boolean operators, truncation and wild cards, proximity operators etc.

There is a transcript available for the ProQuest course available here

ProQuest online course to using the thesaurus function

https://bit.ly/proquestthesaurusguide

An online course (5:50 minutes) designed by ProQuest on locating and using the thesauri that are inbuilt with ProQuest databases

There is a transcript available for the ProQuest course availlable here

Creating a personal ProQuest account

Creating a 'My Research' account allows you to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users. ProQuest has provided guidance on how to set up an account within their databases:

proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform/myresearch

ScienceDirect

How does ScienceDirect transform my search inputs?

This short overview guide from Elsevier summaries some of the main features found in the database that can be used to search its collections:

https://bit.ly/elsvierdatabasesupport

Search tips for using the Advanced search option

https://bit.ly/sciencedirectadvancedsearch

There is also a short online tutorial (2:40 mins) that explores performing an advanced search:

https://bit.ly/sciencedirectadvancedsearchtutorial

This short guide look at how to refine and sort search results within ScienceDirect:

https://bit.ly/sciencedirectsearchresults

The short guide outlines how searches can be saved, retrieved and deleted:

https://bit.ly/sciencedirectsearchhistory

Scopus

Pp. 1-4 of this short guide provide an overview of how to get started with Scopus. The document can be downloaded or printed out.

https://bit.ly/scopusquickguide

This guide goes into more details. The 'Searching for a documents' section includes information about how to its inbuilt functions, such as a phrase searching and Boolean operators. The 'combining search' section looks at how to combine separate searches together:

https://bit.ly/scopussearchingforadocument

The short video tutorial (3:10 mins) provides guidance on running a basic search:

https://bit.ly/scopusbasicsearch

A text version of the tutorial is also available:

https://bit.ly/scopusbasicsearchtexttutorial

The short online tutorial (3:04 mins) explores how to carry out a more complex search:

https://bit.ly/scopusadvancedsearch

There is also a text-only version of the tutorial:

https://bit.ly/scopusadvancedsearchtexttutorial

The short online tutorial (2:13 mins) looks at how to save searches ad set up alerts

https://bit.ly/scopussavesearches

There is also a text only version of the tutorial:

https://bit.ly/scopussavesearchestexttutorial

This online tutorial (2:32 mins) explores how a search can be expanded:

https://bit.ly/scopusexpandsearchvideo

There is also a text-only version of the tutorial:

https://bit.ly/scopusexpandsearchtexttutorial

Quick reference guide

https://bit.ly/webosciencequickguide

Presentation slides exploring the features of Web of Science

https://bit.ly/weboscienceoverviewguide

The guides provide an overview of the database, looking at areas such the features inbuilt within the databases, how to combine searches and how to save searches. The guides can be downloaded or printed out.

The help page's 'Strategies for getting results' section contains several short online tutorials looking at how to effectively use the database:

https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/support/wos/

Tutorials include :

Build Better searches (5:10 mins) - Provides an overview of in-built features, such as using fields, truncation, boolean operators and phrase searching.

Advanced search (1:42 mins) - explores the advanced search option, ho to use the features and where to find previous searches

Combining search sets (3:57 mins) - tutorial looks at how to combines searches within Advanced Search

Why use controlled terms for search? (1:56 mins) - explores incorporating thesaurus terms within a search

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

PRESS Checklist

The PRESS Checklist is a tool used for peer review of electronic literature search strategies. You can use this checklist to evaluate your own search strategy as well, to ensure that you haven't missed any important elements.

Spelling of medical terms

When you are conducting a keyword search in a database, you need to take variations in spelling into account as there may be differences in UK and US spellings. This web page lists medical terms with variations in spelling.

Physiotherapy: Databases

Accessing databases