Grey Literature: Sources of grey literature

Charity directory and fundraising website with a list of all UK registered charities. Follow links to charities to find their publications on their websites.

Email discussion lists for the UK Education and Research communities.

Home to millions of historical documents on a variety of subjects, known as records, which were created and collected by UK central government departments and major courts of law.

Rich collections on business, science and technology, sport, theatre, foreign and UK official publications, photographs, newspapers, moving image, music, maps, manuscripts etc.

Directory of UK Government Departments, Agencies and Public Bodies

Official documents, command papers, House of Commons papers as well as Key Departmental papers since 2012

Older UK government documents

ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database indexes privately and publicly funded clinical studies that have been conducted around the world.

It contains information on interventional clinical trials on medicines conducted in the European Union (EU), or the European Economic Area (EEA) which started after 1 May 2004.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) indexes randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. It is compiled from a variety of sources, such bibliographic databases and also from other clinical registries.

Contains trial registration data sets that have been provided by a number of trial registries. It also provides links to the full original records.

One of the world's biggest search engines for academic open access web resources operated by Bielefeld University Library.

The world’s largest collection of open access research papers (multidisciplinary).

American bimonthly publication from the New York Academy of Medicine - now discontinued but archive freely available

Provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and profiles organizations responsible for its production and/or processing. GreySource identifies the hyperlink directly embedded in a resource, thus allowing immediate and virtual exposure to grey literature.

Global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held

Archived on DANS, a system for European grey literature information of over 1 million bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe and allows you to export records of technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications etc. in science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Open-access working papers repository

A search engine for Medicine-related disciplines.

Publications, documents and other materials either produced by UNESCO or pertaining to UNESCO’s fields of competence. The collections are accessible online or physically - at the library or the archives room.

A free database of open access scholarly articles, with an API and browser extension.

Searches the collections of thousands of libraries worldwide.

WHO statistics, data, research and publications

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

a server for preprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences disciplines

A multidisciplinary preprint server

a preprint server for Psycholgy

a preprint server for social sciences

Index to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide from 1836 onwards

European patent applications as they pass through the grant procedure, including oppositions, patent attorney/EPO correspondence etc.

US patents and of applications from 1790 onwards and records of trademarks registered with the USPTO and of trademark applications. Searches limited to patent numbers and/or classification codes for pre-1976 patents.