QMULibGuides: Prescribing: Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Health and Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the health and Medical collection database and how to use it is available
here
Knowledge network (NHS) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Knowledge Network is only available to NHS staff and students who go on placement within the NHS. Those providing education and training to NHS staff and students and researchers working in partnership with the NHS are also eligible to join.
For full details about eligibility and to register for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx.
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Nursing and Allied Health Dataase and how to use it is available
here
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination for Nurses, Paramedics and related subject areas.
Box of broadcasts This link opens in a new window BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
International Initiative for Impact Evaluation This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary open access collection of impact evaluation records, systematic reviews and evidence gap maps covering education, health, transport, agriculture, business, social protection, public administration
International newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Open Grey This link opens in a new window Open Grey is an open access resource containing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Social care online This link opens in a new window The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Using the CINAHL Headings/MeSH feature in EBSCOhost databases

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

Spelling of Medical Terms

When you are conducting a keyword search in a database, you need to take variations in spelling into account. Sometimes, there is a difference in the way a search term is spelled in the UK compared to the US. This web page lists medical terms with variations in spelling.

PRESS Checklist

The PRESS Checklist is a tool used for peer review of electronic literature search strategies. You can use this checklist to evaluate your own search strategy as well, to ensure that you haven't missed any important elements.

Prescribing: Databases

Accessing Databases