Databases

APA PsycArticles
This full-text psychology database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies This link opens in a new window
A digital platform offering systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Campbell collaboration library of systematic reviews This link opens in a new window
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
CMMC: Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources in all aspects of communication and mass media.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts comprises bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, educational research.
Education Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
The Education Database covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education and also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Additional information about the Education database and how to use it is available
here
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains references to articles and reports on education topics; adult, career and vocational education, assessment and evaluation, disabilities and gifted education, educational management, elementary and early childhood education, higher education, information technology, language and linguistics, reading and communication, teacher and teacher education, urban education.
ESDS - Economic and Social Data Service This link opens in a new window
ESDS is now part iof the UK Data Service. It provides access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data - both quantitative and qualitative - spanning many disciplines and themes.
This resource is available on and off campus but authentication using our Shibboleth service is required in both locations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Health and Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery.
Additional information about the health and Medical collection database and how to use it is available
here
Library Hub Discover This link opens in a new window
Library Hub Discover, gives you access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries. It replaces the COPAC and SUNCAT services.
Linguistics Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Additional information about the Linguistics database and how to use it is available
here
LLBA - Linguistics and language behaviour abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Additional information about Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) and how to use it is available
here
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
National Library of Scotland e-resources This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include business, science, government, art, literature, history, biography, Americana, and music.
When you register with the National Library of Scotland you have free access to an extensive range of licensed digital collections. If your main address is in Scotland you can also use many of these resources from any computer outwith NLS. You can also use a number of open access resources without registering.
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Database provides unmatched research support for both the applied and general sciences. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.

ProQuest Science Database collection is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online is the UK's most extensive free database of social care information. The database contains research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. It is the sister site to reSearchWeb for Scotland.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available
here
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Self-registration is required to access material.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Extensive multidisciplinary statistics platform including forecasts, reports, studies, dossiers. For off-campus access click Login (top right). In the new window, click Campus Access. In the next window, go to “If you have access” to select our university from the list under “Off Campus” and click Check Access when you’ll be prompted to input your QMU credentials.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Internet Archive Scholar
Full text search of over 25 million research articles and scholarly documents in the Internet Archive (from digitized copies of 18th century journals to the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the WWW).
Institute of Education Studies and What Works Clearing House
Intervention reports, practice guides, resources and reviews of individual studies (randomised controlled trials, quasi-experimental design, regression discontinuity design, single case design)
Planipolis (UNESCO) Portal of Education Plans and Policies

Canadian Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Global Breaking Newswire This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 58 Newswires from around the world
International newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
UK national and regional newspapers and more than 660 newspapers worlwide including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
NewsBank UK (off campus access) This link opens in a new window
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information,
NewsBank UK (on campus access) This link opens in a new window
Explore credible, vetted news sources from across the UK & Ireland to stay informed on events, people and issues related to business, government, economy, sports, culture, and more. Features a variety of local, regional, and national credible news and information, Also available remotely 24/7 on any device- please see Newsbank off campus link.