QMULibGuides: Nutrition and Food Science: Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
Health and Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery.
Additional information about the health and Medical collection database and how to use it is available
here
Knowledge network (NHS) This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network (NHS e-Library) offers a wide range of resources including over 4000 e-journals, over 1000 e-books and over 100 databases. NHS staff, students and affiliated researchers are eligible for access.
Full access to the Knowledge Network is only available to NHS staff and students who go on placement within the NHS. Those providing education and training to NHS staff and students and researchers working in partnership with the NHS are also eligible to join.
For full details about eligibility and to register for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx.
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost Research Databases) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Additional information about the Nursing and Allied Health Dataase and how to use it is available
here
Psychology Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications.
Additional information about the Psychology Database and how to use it is available
here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip Pro is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Additional information about ASSIA and how to use it is available
here
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination for Nurses, Paramedics and related subject areas.
Box of broadcasts This link opens in a new window
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
International Initiative for Impact Evaluation This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary open access collection of impact evaluation records, systematic reviews and evidence gap maps covering education, health, transport, agriculture, business, social protection, public administration
International newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Open Grey This link opens in a new window
Open Grey is an open access resource containing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available
here
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest scientific abstract and indexing database, covering material in Science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Social care online This link opens in a new window
The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work

Internet Archive Scholar

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Using the CINAHL Headings/MeSH feature in EBSCOhost databases

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

Spelling of Medical Terms

When you are conducting a keyword search in a database, you need to take variations in spelling into account. Sometimes, there is a difference in the way a search term is spelled in the UK compared to the US. This web page lists medical terms with variations in spelling.

PRESS Checklist

The PRESS Checklist is a tool used for peer review of electronic literature search strategies. You can use this checklist to evaluate your own search strategy as well, to ensure that you haven't missed any important elements.

Nutrition and Food Science: Databases

Accessing Databases