Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Activity Health and Wellbeing: Databases

A subject guide for Physical Activity, Health and Wellbeing from Queen Margaret University

Accessing Databases

Most databases require you to sign in using your university login.

If you are on campus or connected via remote access, clicking on a link within a database should take you to the database record (if it is an indexing and abstract database) or full text of the resource (if it is a full text database). If you are not on campus or using remote access please click on the link then look for an option to login via Shibboleth or via your institution.

More information on accessing our electronic databases is available here.

Key Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Internet Archive Scholar

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Using the CINAHL Headings/MeSH feature in EBSCOhost databases

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

Spelling of Medical Terms

When you are conducting a keyword search in a database, you need to take variations in spelling into account. Sometimes, there is a difference in the way a search term is spelled in the UK compared to the US. This web page lists medical terms with variations in spelling.

PRESS Checklist

The PRESS Checklist is a tool used for peer review of electronic literature search strategies. You can use this checklist to evaluate your own search strategy as well, to ensure that you haven't missed any important elements.