It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Institute for Global Health and Development: Databases
Most databases require you to sign in using your university login.
If you are on campus or connected via remote access, clicking on a link within a database should take you to the database record (if it is an indexing and abstract database) or full text of the resource (if it is a full text database). If you are not on campus or using remote access please click on the link then look for an option to login via Shibboleth or via your institution.
More information on accessing our electronic databases is available here.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, includes references to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
This resource is freely available on the internet. No authentication is required.
. The Knowledge Network (NHS e-Library)offers a wide range of resources including over 4000 e-journals, over 1000 e-books and over 100 databases.
Full access to the Knowledge Network is only available to NHS staff and students who go on placement within the NHS. Those providing education and training to NHS staff and students and researchers working in partnership with the NHS are also eligible to join.
For full details about eligibility and to register for access please see the Knowledge Network's eligibility and registration page web page at http://www.knowledge.scot.nhs.uk/login.aspx.
MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available here
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services.
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching
Using the CINAHL Headings/MeSH feature in EBSCOhost databases