It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hospitality and Tourism: Databases - Literature Search
Use databases to find articles on a given topic which is called literature searching for assignments and dissertations. If you have never had training on literature searching, please see the Literature Search video below to help you create a search strategy on a given topic.
Many of the databases in the left hand column are available through the same platform such as Proquest and EBSCO. If you learn how to search one Proquest database or one EBSCO database, you will know how to search all of the Proquest or EBSCO databases as they all databases on the same platforms look the same but contain diferrent journal collections. Please see the short online and video guides to the right for each database or group of databases to help you learn how to search them.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. It helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide.
eResearch is a repository which collects together the work of Queen Margaret University researchers and allows them to make their research outputs freely available over the web via a searchable "open access" database.
This resource is freely available on the internet.
eTheses is a repository of full-text theses produced by students of Queen Margaret University. It is an Open Access repository which aims to make the material available to the widest possible audience.
This resource is freely available on the internet. However undergraduate dissertations are only accessible by a person with a QMU email address.
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Additional information about the Political Science Database and how to use it is available here
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Additional information about ProQuest Central and how to use it is available here
Science Direct is the website for journals published by Elsevier, offering extensive and unique full text coverage of authoritative titles from the core scientific literature. QM has access to subject collections in Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Psychology, Neuroscience and Economics.
The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
The Social Science Citation Index is now accessed as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
ProQuest Social Science Database is also searchable as part of ProQuest Central.
Additional information about the Social Science Database and how to use it is available here
Statista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world, with access to over 1.5 million data sets (adding up to 500 extra per day) with revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2020 on over 400 industries. There are also many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge breadth of coverage of data relating to most subject areas. Statista has a team of over 140 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors.
UK & Ireland Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Additional information about the UK and Ireland Database and how to use it is available here
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.