Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy: Researching the Job Market

Being able to find and use key business information is often key to securing employment. Researching your career sector through the use of QMU Library's  business databases is some of the best preparation you can do for building commercial awareness - something employers are looking for in prospective employees and often at interview stage. Some of these databases require high-level information skills. Ask the Library if you need help with searching or evaluating the information you find.

In addition to the business databases available through QMU Library, joining the National Library of Scotland (NLS) and Edinburgh City Libraries will give you free online access to further high-quality market research and business intelligence databases. These are also beneficial for researching businesses and industry prior to an interview or when planning a career move.

Loading ...

If you're thinking about applying for a job in a large company or commercial industry, it's a good idea to research the activities of the company in the broader market. QMU Library subscribes to the business resources (including leading business newspapers) below which can be an efficient way of gaining an overview of key trends and forecasts in business.

Hoovers Company Profiles and Snapshots are now part of Business Market Research Collection.

Financial Times archive (via Proquest Newsstand)


Includes articles from 31st May 1996 - present (with a 30 day delay)

Recently added to the archive...

Loading ...

FT.com news feed...

Loading ...

The Economist (archive via Proquest)


Includes full-text articles from 4th January 1992 (vol. 322, no. 7740) - present

Recently added ...

Loading ...
<
Search International newsstream for UK national and regional newspapers.
Loading ...